2018-2019 Faculty Award Recipients

During commencement, the VES community celebrated not only the Class of 2019, but also acknowledged several faculty members and their dedication to the community. Faculty were recognized for being masters of their discipline, their ability to make meaningful connections with the young people they serve and their contributions to the school. Congratulations to all on their hard-earned and well-deserved accolades!

The Paul Fulton, Jr. ‘53 Master Teaching Award recognizes that teacher on the VES faculty who, in the opinion of his or her fellow faculty members, most nearly represents the ideal of the “Master Teacher.” This year’s recipient is Jason Knebel, Jean and Bill Cook Master of English.

The Smith Family Award recognizes excellence in teaching and the making of meaningful connections with young men and women, and is given to faculty who are chosen by their peers as representatives of this important VES value. This year’s recipients are Will Greene, Math Department Chair, and Jesi Thompson, Visual Arts teacher.

The Elinor Bass Hopkins Memorial Award is given to a deserving faculty member, member of the staff, or spouse of a staff or faculty member and recognizes them for their dedication to the VES community and for making an outstanding contribution to the school and its students. This year’s recipient is Margaret Lyle Jones.

The Zimmer Award recipients are nominated and voted on by members of the 2019 senior class. Established in 1997, the Zimmer Award is presented by the senior class to that faculty member or administrator who demonstrates the deepest love and concern for the School. This year’s recipients are Amy Koudelka, College Counseling, and Mao Wang, Assistant Dean of Students.
A College Preparatory, Independent Boarding and Day School for Students in Grades 9-12
400 VES Road, Lynchburg, VA 24503 • 434.385.3600